Christopher de Groot

Christopher de Groot is a composer based in Melbourne. His current project is an opera based on the 20-hour video diary of Björk stalker Ricardo Lopez. 

List of Works


Nought Point Five Above Zero No Wind

La Mama theatre show directed by Laurence Strangio. This play was part of the Nordic Noir series. 

The River

Red Stitch theatre show directed by John Kachoyan. Nominated for Best Music Composition and Sound Design at the 2017 Green Room Awards. 


Selected video works of Peter Kennedy

Sound manipulation and augmentation of 11 video works created by Australian artist Peter Kennedy. Works originally created by Kennedy in 1971, revised works to be exhibited at the Milani Gallery in Brisbane November 2015. 

Dream Home

Theatre show written by Emilie Collyer and directed by Luke Kerridge. Winner of Best Music and Sound at the 2016 Green Room Awards. 

Delicacies of Molten Horror Synapse

Piano trio, live audio processing and bass drum. Commissioned by the Melbourne Piano Trio. This work accompanies the 1991 short film of the same name by Stan Brakhage. 



Theatre adaptation of Ingmar Bergman's classic film, directed by Sam Barrett.

Thérèse Raquin

Theatre show adapted and directed by Gary Abrahams. Nominated for Best Music and Sound at the 2015 Green Room Awards. 


The Burning Kiss (in post production) 

Feature film directed by Robbie Studsor.


De Stroyed

Theatre show based on the writings of Simone de Beauvoir. Conceived by Suzanne Chaundy and Jillian Murray.  Directed by Suzanne Chaundy. 

Duck, Death & The Tulip

Barking Gecko Theatre Co. directed by John Sheedy. Score composed by Tristen Parr, Callum Moncrieff and Christopher de Groot. 


Mutant Telescope

Solo cimbalom, commissioned by Joshua Webster.


Tropfest short film directed by Megan Palinkas.


Feature film directed by Sam Barrett. Soundtrack released by Screamworks Records [Sweden]


The Fourth Step

Vibraphone. Commissioned by Simon Moncrieff and Margot Noone Moncrieff.

The Big Tip

Short film directed Megan Palinkas, created at the Australian Film, Television and Radio School (AFTRS).


Cello, bass clarinet and four ruined vinyl records commissioned by Decibel.



Feature film directed by Sam Barrett.

Crow's Feet

Short film directed by Megan Palinkas.

Sororal for Chamber Orchestra

Chamber orchestra and prerecorded cassette tapes (based on the dramaturgy of Sam Barrett and Robbie Studsor's screenplay of the same name) composed for WASOs 2010 Composition Project.


It's Just Gary

Short film directed by Vincenzo Perrella and Dan Osborn.


Short animation directed by Pierce Davison.


Original soundtrack for the 1926 silent film directed by Dimitri Kirsanoff.

Early Checkout

Tropfest entry directed by Jim Lounsbury.


Three Pieces Of Metal (I-Metal Head, II-Duf-Duf Serenade, III-Alternative Medicine)

Metal based percussion instruments [4 percussionists].

Director’s Cut

Feature film directed by Paul Komadina. 


Short Film directed by Gary Sewell.


Student film directed by Erland Storsveen.

Corpus Vile

Super 8 film created for Revel8 (Perth film festival) by David Moore. Winner of People's Choice Award for best film and soundtrack. 


Super 8 film created for Revel8 (Perth film festival) by Xavier Grijalva.

Vulture Culture

Short film written by Ronan Freeburn and directed by Christian Farrugia.


Modal Logic

Six pieces for flute and Rhodes electric piano composed as Artist in Residence at the West Australian Academy Of Performing Arts (revised 2014).

Pedro's Lunch

Six winds keyboards and tuned percussion composed as Artist in Residence at the West Australian Academy Of Performing Arts

Monsoon Dreams

Flute, six-string bass guitar, drum kit and tambura. A commissioned work by flautist Asha Henfry. 

Cirrus Of The Open Sky

Four Stradella accordions.

Party For One

Super 8 film created for Revel8 (Perth film festival) by Mat de Koning. Winner of Best Picture, Best Experimental Film and Best Experimental Soundtrack Composer.